This famous liqueur was initially developed in a single alembic still at the back of the shop set up in 1834 by confectioner Jean-Baptiste Combier and his wife Josephine Destre. L’Original Combier triple sec orange liqueur has been produced in the Saumur distillery continuously ever since with unique craftsmanship in the same 19th-century copper stills. The historical recipe has remained unchanged. Orange peel imported from the Caribbean is zested by hand at the distillery. No colourings or flavourings are added to the pure distillation of sweet and bitter oranges, water and sugar.